June 27th, 2015

I got to work by 10:30, and stretched out. In the pre shift meeting we were told that anyone who has not sold a rewards card within the last month would have to attend a mandatory classroom training session with the general manager. I can not remember the last time I sold a card. The rewards card is just like every restaurant or grocery store, the more you come in, the more bonuses you earn. The difference between our card and others, is the $25 activation fee. Customers pay $25 which automatically goes to the card as $25 off on their next visit. It is basically paying ahead for the next time you come in. The only real selling point is that if they have the card, they don’t have to wait in line on a busy night, they get sat right away. The classroom training session is to teach servers how to sell them, or punish those who don’t sell them. When I found out that the managers got bonuses when we sold the cards, I stopped mentioning them to my tables.

The classroom training session is scheduled for Thursday, July 2nd, at 3 pm. My niece flies in at noon, and I will not be attending any such “mandatory” meeting. At first I was annoyed, and then enraged. I will not tell my 11 year old niece to take a cab from the airport because I have to be scolded for 3 hours at work.

I got behind the bar and then when it was slow, I checked my email to see my schedule for the week. I am scheduled a shift on Sunday July 5th, and a training class on July 3rd. I had requested that time off because my niece would be here, and having me train new people in a classroom setting for 6 hours is a bad idea even if I don’t have family on the island. I spent the rest of the shift wanting to quit. After listening to all the other servers talk about how the general manager is nit-picking and focusing on the very small details, I thought about quitting on the spot. Almost everybody working today was talking about interviews they had lined up at other restaurants.

I finished my shift at 5:30 and picked up Thai food on the way home. I was still annoyed, but once I ate, I calmed down. Rebecca and I watched the latest Sherlock Holmes movie and then I ended up going to bed around 9.

Leave a comment