June 20th, 2015

I was up at 6:30 and out the door by 7. I had to get gas for my moped and I got a Danish for breakfast. I stopped at Starbucks and they had my drink ready before I even reached the register. I started prepping the bar but was still too tired to be thinking clearly. After last week, where the general manager told me I needed to keep the second drink well stocked with ice, even though we never ever use it, I put a bucket of ice inside, even though it holds 6 buckets. When he showed up today at noon, he walked back, looked in the nearly empty drink well, patted me on the back, which I despise, (I don’t like being touched) and said “this is strike two.” I pointed out that the we don’t use that drink well, and the nozzle is missing so we can’t use it even if we needed to. “When I decide to change the spec’s on bar opening I’ll let you know. Until then, do what you are told” was his response. As he walked away my hands started shaking because I was so angry. How can someone who has never waited tables, or been a bartender know what actually needs to be done behind the bar.

Later during the shift, I was headed to the bathroom. When he is working I am not allowed to leave the bar to stock beers or fruit, other bartenders can, but he will always stop me and ask why I’m not where I am supposed to be. He saw me out of the bar, turned to ask why I was “out of my cage” and was just about to say something when I turned to go to the bathroom. For the rest of the shift, I had another bartender stocking supplies, to which he said nothing.

Both of the other bartenders were scheduled double shifts, so they both got to go home before me, even though I had started earlier. I was there for 10 1/2 hours without a break and I was mentally done by the time I got home. Rebecca made dinner and I watched Netflix until going to bed around 12.

Leave a comment