June 29th, 2015

I woke up around 9 and had something for breakfast… oh yeah, Rebecca scrambled some eggs and I covered them with salsa and wrapped it up in a tortilla. I bummed around the apartment for a couple hours, called my doctor to ask him to refill my blood pressure and sleeping medications.

At 1:30 I headed into town on my moped to attend a CPR class which is a prerequisite for the EMT program. Most CPR classes are 4-6 hours of practice, watching videos and listening to questions from students who have defied the laws of natural selection and in spite of their lack of common sense, they are still walking around amongst us and making new generations of human door-stops. This class was advertised as being fast, and that was the biggest selling point. I had pre-registered and paid the $75 fee last night. When I had arrived for class, I was told that I needed the class today, as well as a second class which they would happily set me up with at the end of the first class. This was no fault of the company, but mostly the American Heart Association for making so many different levels of CPR cards, and the school for requiring me to have two separate cards. The first class was basic CPR and first aid, it was over in 2 hours. The second class, which was just the instructor and myself was much quicker than the 4-6 hours I was anticipating. Since I have had CPR cards in the past, and I have actually performed CPR on real people more times than I care to remember, and since I didn’t have to waste time asking stupid questions, I was home by 5. Sure I had to pay for 2 classes, but not having to sit in a classroom for 8-12 hors was defiantly worth it.

On my way home, I stopped at the grocery store to pick up tortillas, and all of the food Rebecca doesn’t let me buy when I go shopping with her. I watched a movie about two guys who crash weddings to pick up girls while we had dinner and then I started watching Top Gun. I used to love the soundtrack for that movie when I was little, I don’t think I have actually seen the movie in 15 years or so. Once the movie finished, I headed to the pharmacy to see if my doctor had sent in the refill authorizations for my prescriptions. Ha had not. This is not the first time I have had to wait for him to authorize a refill. Last time my inhaler was out, and I called 7 or 8 times within a few days to see when they were going to let me get anew inhaler. I had one of his secretaries yell at me saying they would call me when they authorized the prescription, and to stop calling. I think its time for a new doctor.

I went home after a little drive to clear my head, and then I settled in to watch a documentary on Netflix.

In the middle of Top Gun, for no apparent reason, I thought about making a cooking show. Each week I could make a different recipe of corn products. One week it would be corn on the cob, the next week it would be about popcorn, and significance of popcorn at the movies, the next week would be corn tortillas, or corn bread. Each episode would be about corn, and the title of the show would be called CORNography. The logo for the show could be a piece of corn, with the stalk coming off reveling a bikini top of some sort… I haven’t worked out all the details yet, but my hope is to make a show and sell it to one of the cooking networks, or one of those other networks who have run out of ideas, and are just buying up reality shows.

Leave a comment